top of page

Hi! My name is Courtney. I'm a book lover, wine and coffee enthusiast, aspiring world traveler, and a proud Wisconsinite looking to find happiness in the little moments in life, dreaming of great adventures, and hoping to brighten someone else's day! I hope my blog will bring you positive thoughts and inspire you to dream big and do great things!

Featured Posts

My Recommended Reading List (Mostly Modernish All-Time Favorites)

Need a good book to read?

Below is a list of some of my current favorites! Disclaimer: this list is subject to change...and does, and will. These books are the ones that speak to me at this moment in my life, that I would reread and would recommend to others. They all have a place on my bookshelf as well as in my heart.

1. Anything by John Green

Book, John Green novels

So this probably belongs in a “favorite author” post, but I don’t care. I always recommend John Green because I LOVE his style of writing. He writes in a way I think. He has a deep, unique and real perspective on life that is reflected in his characters. “Looking for Alaska” and “Paper Towns” are my favorites, but I love everything he has written. P.S. if you’re looking for some insightful, deep life quotes that are still very down to earth, he is a great reference.

2. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Book, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I love this book for the same reason I love John Green novels. I love the narration, the relateableness, and though the main character Charlie might be an “outsider,” he observes everything. Unique coming-of-age story.

3. The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillippa Gregory

Book, The Other Boleyn Girl

I have read this book over probably more than I have reread any other book. I don’t exactly know why, except that is just a good story. It takes place over several years in 16th century England, and is about King Henry VIII (aka, the guy who invented divorce) and Anne Boleyn, the first woman King Henry VIII first marries after he divorces Queen Catherine. But this story is told from the perspective of Anne’s sister, Mary Boleyn. There’s drama, injustice and romance. Maybe part of the draw for me is the fact that it’s historical and is loosely based on real events (like Anastasia!). It's a long story, but it keeps me intrigued the whole way.

4. Sting by Sandra Brown

Book, Sting

Sting is a thriller that keeps you guessing the whole time. There's romance, mystery, danger, FBI agents, criminals and a "damsel in distress." Her hero is a little unconventional though;) Does that count as a spoiler alert? Great story that keeps you turning those pages to find out what’s going to happen next.

5. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Book, Gone Girl

This is a trendy one right now, but its trendiness is well-deserved, in my opinion. This book had me seething and gasping and made me feel ALL the emotions! And this is one of the few books where I was completely flabbergasted half way through the book (Dan Brown is also another author that can always shock me, even if I’m trying to figure it out the entire book—totally different style/genre/subject though). While a lot of authors try and paint the beauty in life, I think Gillian Flynn is exemplary at doing the opposite. She writes about the raw, ugliness of people and she does it well.

6. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Book, Me Before You

What I love about this book is not the love story involved, although that is a bonus. I love the message about living your life to the fullest, trying new things, traveling and seeing the world. It really spoke to me on a personal level and I just love Louisa’s quirky character.

7. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Book, Eleanor & Park

A unique coming-of-age romance that hits on some very serious themes. You will fall in love with these two characters. Could not put this one down. Be prepared to feel a lot of emotions with this one. So good.

I just have to say that as I’m writing about my current favorite books, I am catching myself smiling about them. I’m smiling about writing about my favorite books. #booknerd

So if you’re looking for a good page turner, something to look forward to after a long day, or just something new to read, you can’t go wrong with any of the above!

Comments


bottom of page